Unprecedented, the piano sessions

Marcela Bovio

Record Details


Record Tracklist

  1. Hay amores -:-- / -:--
  2. The treasure hunter -:-- / -:--
  3. Found! -:-- / -:--
  4. Dime -:-- / -:--
  5. The cartographers -:-- / -:--
  6. Powerless -:-- / -:--
  7. Alicia -:-- / -:--
  8. Saboteurs -:-- / -:--
  9. Stars -:-- / -:--
  10. The one -:-- / -:--
  11. Hope is never lost -:-- / -:--
  12. Pure imagination (L. Bricusse, A. Newley) -:-- / -:--
  13. Nature boy (E. Ahbez) -:-- / -:--
  14. The one (Spanish version) -:-- / -:--

Sometimes you find yourself in a moment that touches you so deeply, that you wish you could make it last forever; this is how I felt while playing with pianist Erik van Ittersum last year.
After releasing my first album, “Unprecedented”, I was very eager to do a little tour and perform the new songs live. It wasn’t always easy to play in a full string quartet setting, so I asked Erik to join me for a few shows. I knew making piano arrangements of the quartet songs would be a challenge, but I also knew his work and was confident he’d do a wonderful job. And he did! The results exceeded my wildest expectations: the intensity and complexity of the songs was still there, and the percussiveness of the piano added a whole new dimension to the tracks. We rehearsed a lot together, and every time we did the songs grew into something more and more special.
That’s why I really wanted to capture this special collaboration. We met at Sandlane Recording Facilities on December 5, 2016 and we recorded fourteen tracks… in one day! And I’m so happy we did.
I hope you enjoy this album as much as we enjoyed making it. I for one am very happy this wonderful collaboration has been recorded for posterity 🙂

Marcela Bovio – vocals
Erik van Ittersum – piano

Recorded live at Sandlane Recording Facilities on December 5, 2016. Engineered and mixed by Jos Driessen.